Violet Box – August 2013 – Review

Hi everyone,

First off, I’d like to say a big sorry to everyone for the lack of posts during the past week and a half or so, I’ve been quite ill so I haven’t been able to both physically or mentally blog! Hoping to get better within the coming week so fingers crossed.

Back to today’s post, as most of you would all know by now, Violet Box is a monthly beauty subscription box that I signed up to months before the official release and consistently each month, Violet Box has impressed me. Well, this trend continues this month! For the price of  $22.95 per month, I am consistently wowed by the boxes contents; for value, quality and general attractiveness of all the products included in each box. This months box was dispatched late due to delays in receiving 2 of the products as they were being sent from the UK. I do believe that these were the Jelly Pong Pong products.

DSCN2863

 

August Boxes’ contents:

 

Jelly Pong Pong 2-in-1 Shadow/Liner RRP $19.00. Received FULL SIZE.

DSCN2878I’m really interested to try this product as it’s an eyeliner and shadow. I find that some products that are marketed as a ‘2 in 1’ may perform in one use but not in the other. I received this crayon in the colour bronze which is perfect for me as I love to wear neutral colours on my eyes. It’s Italian formulated (which for some reason makes me think it’ll be amazing because of this) and allows you to create bold lines or wear it smudged out!

 

Jelly Pong Pong Lip Blush RRP $22.00. Received FULL SIZE.DSCN2875To this day, I have still somehow resisted from purchasing any lip crayons as I am still waiting to buy Bourjois’ ‘Peach on the Beach’, which I cant seem to find in stock anywhere! I received this in the colour Cranberry and I already love the shade, even just by looking at it! I would describe it as a nice summery red colour and its a nice small size to pop into my handbag/uni bag. Not only will it give your lips some colour, but it’ll also provide them with moisture and I can see myself wearing this in winter or summer. This product is also formulated in Italy.

 

Dr Bragi Age Management Moisturiser RRP $179 for 60ml. Received 5ml sample.DSCN2879I haven’t heard of this brand before but this product, judging by the description given, can be compared to Hydraluron from Indeed Labs. It aims to reduce the signs of aging by fighting environmental effects with this moisturiser, which contains Hyaluronic Acid and marine enzymes. This product is more of an anti aging moisturiser but I’m interested in seeing how it does compare to Hydraluron as it is quite similar in its make up.

 

ghd Style Heat Protection Spray RRP $24.00 FOR 120ML. Received FULL SIZE.DSCN2871To me, every girl’s dream is to own a ghd styler as they’re so renowned for their quality and performance. I, myself don’t own a ghd…yet but I will one day! In the mean time, I always used some sort of heat protectant on my hair, whether it be a spray or gel when using any electrical styling products, to minimize any damage to my hair. This product promises to leave a ‘no product’ feel to the hair which is what I’m hoping it will do as I find that certain styling products do weigh my hair down and makes it look quite flat.

 

Goldwell Dualsenses Rich Repair Crème Shampoo and Conditioner RRP $24.95 each for 300ml. Received 10ml sample of both.DSCN2884The Goldwell Dualsenses Rich Repair line is targeted to those with dry or stressed hair. The conditioner is also an ‘anti breakage’ conditioner which means that it’ll both nourish and strengthen hair. I’m not really a fan of using sachets and always seem to just accumulate lots and lots of them in a draw but I will try and use this shampoo and conditioner as I think it’ll work well after having styled my hair with any electrical products.

Once again, I am so impressed by the contents on Violet Box! Not only are the products included in the box interesting and new to me, having not seen a few of these products in Australia, but it is also really great value every month to receive a wide array of products – from skincare, haircare to makeup that I look forward to trying out. Although I haven’t subscribed to any other beauty boxes, I really do believe that Violet Box is the best out there when looking at consistency and value for money. I can definitely see myself being subscribed to this box for many months and years to come. I look forward to receiving my Violet Box each and every month!

 

Are you currently subscribed to Violet Box or are thinking about it? Leave a comment below!

 

Like this post?

Follow me on Bloglovin’!

Like my Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

 

That’s all for now,
triedandtestedblogger XOXO

